Disputes
resolution

Disputes resolution

It is becoming standard practice in the wind industry and infrastructure projects that plant and construction contracts contain a provision for an alternative dispute resolution. At CARNEADES we know the importance of having a clear process and providing high quality documentation for any form of dispute resolution and we focus especially on supporting the following procedures:

 

FORENSIC DELAY ANALYSIS

The assessment of the disturbed construction process is the core task for processing of any hindrance case. For this purpose, we employ specialists in Forensic Delay Analysis.

The consideration of claims under the construction process, as repeatedly demanded by BGH high court, can only be obtained by involving this specialist discipline.

With a combination of our expert knowledge of all requirements and vast experience, CARNEADES is able to transform this usually complex and muddled process into an orderly claim-structure. To achieve this result, we use various tools and software applications.

 

DISPUTE ADJUDICATION PROCEDURES

Today most plant and construction contracts include a provision to establish a Dispute Adjudication Board for dispute settlement. This Board is typically made up of contractually experienced senior-engineers or lawyers.

The Dispute Adjudication Procedures deviate quite considerably from the common legal proceedings. This must be taken into account when preparing the Dispute Adjudication Procedure. Great attention must be paid to the selection and appointment of each board member. Here our large international network of relevant experts is a great advantage. Due to previous participation in a number of international procedures within plant engineering and construction CARNEADES has access to such network.

DAB procedures are often configured more freely by the board to facilitate a swift decision making process. This increases the demand for high quality support during the preparation of the Statement of Claim and the Statement of Defence as well as the further procedure documentation and evidence. While compiling the necessary documentation, which requires a very high degree of specialization to succeed, CARNEADES pays particular attention to strategic negotiation aspects.

 

ARBITRATION

Contrary to the DAB procedure, arbitration proceedings aim to achieve a juridical dispute resolution by civil courts. Hereby, in contrast to a decision by a public court, absolute discretion can be ensured for all parties and sensitive material will not be made public.

In cooperation with the client’s legal department, CARNEADES will ensure compliance with standards and processes while preparing the legal and factual assessments as well as assessing the commercial aspects of each claim. Due to the high value claims, CARNEADES will provide a suitable interdisciplinary team that include arbitration specialists and industry experts.

Selected examples of services:

  • Dispute Adjudication Procedure
  • Board selection
  • Documentation evidence collection and drafting
  • Negotiation strategy
  • Statement of claim
  • DAB procedures management

Streit-
beilegung

STREITBEILEGUNG

In der Windindustrie und bei Infrastrukturprojekten wird es gängige Praxis, dass Anlagen- und Fertigungsaufträge eine Bestimmung für eine alternative Streitbeilegung enthalten. Wir bei CARNEADES wissen, wie wichtig es ist, einen klaren Prozess zu haben und eine hochwertige Dokumentation für jede Form der Streitbeilegung bereitzustellen. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns insbesondere auf die Unterstützung der folgenden Verfahren:

FORENSIC DELAY ANALYSIS

Die Bewertung des gestörten Bauablaufs ist die Kernaufgabe zur Bearbeitung eines jeden Behinderungssachverhaltes. Hierzu setzen wir Spezialisten in der Forensic Delay Analysis ein.

Die vom Bundesgerichtshof immer wieder geforderte bauablaufbezogene Darstellung von Ansprüchen ist nur über diese Fachdisziplin zu erreichen.

Durch genaue Kenntnis der Anforderungen und der wesentlichen Einflussgrößen kann auf der anderen Seite der häufig umfangreiche, komplizierte und verworrene Sachverhalt von CARNEADES effizient in eine geordnete Anspruchsstruktur überführt werden. Dazu bedienen wir uns zahlreicher Tools und Softwareanwendungen.

DISPUTE ADJUDICATION PROCEDURES

Viele Anlagenbauverträge sehen heute die Einrichtung eines Dispute Adjudication Boards zur Streitbeilegung vor. Dieses Board wird in der Regel mit vertragserfahrenen Senior-Ingenieuren oder mit Juristen besetzt.

Die Dispute Adjudication Procedures unterscheiden sich jedoch erheblich von gängigen Gerichtsverfahren. Dieses ist bei der Vorbereitung so eines Verfahrens besonders zu beachten. Bereits bei der Auswahl und Besetzung der Board Member ist große Sorgfalt notwendig. Dazu ist ein möglichst großes internationales Netzwerk von entsprechenden Experten nützlich. CARNEADES kann durch die Beteiligung an internationalen Verfahren im Bau und Anlagenbau auf ein solches Netzwerk zurückgreifen.

DAB-Verfahren werden vom Board oft relativ frei gestaltet und sollen eine schnelle Entscheidung erleichtern. Das setzt hohe Anforderungen für die Aufbereitung des Statement of Claim oder des Statement of Defense, sowie der weiteren Verfahrensdokumente oder Beweismittel voraus. Die notwendige Dokumentation erfordert für einen Erfolg, bereits in der Erstellung einen sehr hohen Spezialisierungsgrad, wobei CARNEADES hier besonders verhandlungsstrategischen Aspekten großes Augenmerk einräumt.

ARBITRATION

Gegenüber dem DAB-Verfahren zielt die Arbitration oder das Schiedsverfahren auf eine juristische Streitentscheidung durch ein privates Gerichtsverfahren. Dadurch können gegenüber dem öffentlichen staatlichen Gerichtsverfahren der besondere bau- oder anlagenbaubezogene Sachverstand im streitentscheidenden Gremium sowie auch das Bedürfnis nach Geheimhaltung für die Parteien sichergestellt werden.

Im Zusammenwirken mit der vom Kunden als Prozessvertreter beauftragten Rechtsanwaltskanzlei bereitet CARNEADES den Sachverhalt, der den streitigen Ansprüchen zugrunde liegt, in der erforderlichen Form auf und bearbeitet die kaufmännischen Bestandteile der Ansprüche. Da es sich dabei häufig um Ansprüche im zwei- bis dreistelligen Millionenbereich handelt, stellt CARNEADES dazu ein mehrköpfiges interdisziplinäres Team auf. Dieses vereint die erforderlichen Spezialisten mit der für den aktuellen Fall notwendigen Expertise.

Ausgewählte Dienstleistungsbeispiele:

  • Streitbeilegungsverfahren
  • Board Auswahl
  • Dokumentation, Beweissammlung und -erstellung
  • Verhandlungsstrategie
  • Klageschrift
  • Verwaltung von DAB-Verfahren