Marcia Vieira-Royle

Contract & Claim Manager

Marcia works at Carneades as a Contract Manager. She brings over fifteen years of experience in Oil & Gas, Shipping and Wind Energy, adding her solid contract management experience to our team’s strong knowledge. She adds not only her renewable energy experience in Seaway 7 in Germany but also fourteen years of practice in high-caliber shipping law firms in London.

In Offshore Wind, she has assisted tender teams in reviewing tender documentation, negotiated contracts and sub-contracts, handled claims and variations and negotiated a wide range of offshore wind vessel charters (BIMCO), including offshore vessel refurbishment within the scope of cable transportation and installation packages as well as coordinating the interaction with inside and outside stakeholders. She has provided full support in cable installation packages and in other circumstances, handled cable defect claims. Her experience also comprises acting in a Project Counsel role, advising clients on contractual entitlements and assisting with correspondence, notices, variation procedures and claim submissions.

In the Oil & Gas sector, her experience covers the full spectrum of the E&P business: from upstream to downstream, from tenders to E&P contracts held by NOCs to transactions for sale of downstream country networks, from FEED to EPCI projects to the full suite of relevant contracts and insurance related guidance. In upstream, she has assisted in risk analysis and advising the board on key decisions needed in risk management and risk mitigation.

In Shipping, she has negotiated, reviewed and drafted charters of offshore vessels both within the scope of Oil & Gas E&P activities and Offshore Wind. In the latter case she has also negotiated with shipyards the repair of vessels and drafted contracts related to the design and installation of a reversible conversion to offshore vessels for cable installation.

Her work is usually international and cross-border and frequently involves different legal systems.

Marcia is fluent in English, French and Portuguese and has intermediate level German and Spanish. She is a Solicitor in England and Wales and also a qualified lawyer in Portugal and Brazil.

Marcia Vieira-Royle

Contract & Claim Manager

Marcia ist bei Carneades als Contract Managerin tätig. Sie bringt mehr als fünfzehn Jahre Berufserfahrung mit in den Bereichen Öl & Gas, Schifffahrt und Windenergie und ergänzt das fundierte Wissen unseres Teams durch ihre Erfahrung im Vertragsmanagement. Ihre Kenntnisse umfassen den Bereich erneuerbare Energien bei Seaway 7 in Deutschland sowie vierzehn Jahre Praxis in hochkarätigen Schifffahrtskanzleien in London.

Im Bereich Offshore Wind unterstützte sie Tender-Teams bei der Prüfung von Ausschreibungsunterlagen, bearbeitete Reklamationen und Variationen und verhandelte eine breite Palette von Offshore-Windschiff-Charterverträgen (BIMCO), einschließlich der Sanierung von Offshore-Schiffen im Rahmen von Kabeltransport- und Installationspaketen und der Koordinierung der Interaktion mit internen und externen Interessengruppen. Sie unterstützte umfassend bei Kabelinstallationspaketen und bearbeitete in anderen Fällen Kabelmängelansprüche. Ihre Erfahrung umfasst auch die Tätigkeit als Projektberaterin, die Kunden zu vertraglichen Ansprüchen, bei Korrespondenz, Mitteilungen, Änderungsverfahren und der Einreichung von Ansprüchen berät.

Ihre umfangreiche Erfahrung deckt im Öl- und Gassektor das gesamte Spektrum des E&P-Geschäfts ab: von Upstream bis Downstream, von Ausschreibungen zu E&P-Verträgen, die von NOCs gehalten werden, bis hin zu Transaktionen für den Verkauf von nachgelagerten Landesnetzen, von FEED zu EPCI-Projekten bis hin zu der gesamten Palette relevanter Verträge und versicherungsbezogener Beratung. Im Upstream-Bereich hat sie an Risikoanalysen mitgewirkt und den Vorstand bei wichtigen Entscheidungen im Bereich Risikomanagement und Risikominderung beraten.

In der Schifffahrt verhandelte, prüfte und entwarf sie Charterverträge für Offshore-Schiffe sowohl im Rahmen von Öl- und Gas-E&P-Aktivitäten als auch für Offshore-Windkraftanlagen. Im letzteren Fall hat sie auch mit Schiffswerften über die Reparatur von Schiffen verhandelt und Verträge im Zusammenhang mit dem Design und der Installation eines reversiblen Umbaus von Offshore-Schiffen für die Kabelinstallation entworfen.

Ihre Arbeit ist in der Regel international und grenzüberschreitend und bezieht häufig verschiedene Rechtssysteme mit ein.
Marcia spricht fließend Englisch, Französisch und Portugiesisch und verfügt über Mittelstufenkenntnisse in Deutsch und Spanisch. Sie ist Solicitor in England und Wales und außerdem qualifizierte Anwältin in Portugal und Brasilien.